Christmas card ideas …

Hi and welcome to my blog. It’s time for another challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown.  This week, I’ve set a colour challenge … 

pink blue and silver

My head was so full of ideas for these colours, I had difficulty in narrowing down which design to choose.  In the end, I couldn’t decide so I’m sharing 3 different ideas.  

The first is using a stamp set I’ve had in my collection for a few years – wondrous gift – I just love the sentiment in this set, and loved the effect I got by sponging over the heat embossed image … 

Wondrous gift

The soft sponged effect looks so pretty in real life…

Wondrous gift cu

Next up, I used the same colours with the holiday home set. I started with the background, inking through the stars stencil with sponge daubers, and then adding silver stars punched out with the stars border punch. I made a punched holly embellishment too … 

Holiday home

And from the pieces I had left over, I made a couple of tags to match …

Holiday home tags

And finally, I achieved an air-brushed look for the background of this wintery scene, using some brighter colours and my stencil brushes. I then sponged over the top with craft white ink through the circles stencil. It looked a little like bokeh when I’d finished …

White Christmas

The gel pen snowflakes added subtle dimension …

White-Christmas-cu

I hope you like my cards for this week – do you have a favourite?

Now it’s time to see what the rest of the Design Team have created to inspire you too, so do pop over to 52 Christmas Card Throwdown to take a look. We hope you’ll join in our challenge. 

Want to make this blog colours

stamps:  wondrous gift, white Christmas, holiday home, endless wishes;

inks: black stazon, early espresso, pink pirouette, soft sky, daffodil delight, melon mambo, tempting turquoise, whisper white;

cardstock: whisper white, soft sky, tempting turquoise;

punches and dies: star border, small star, tag topper, large oval, small circle, circle, scallop circle, small snowflake by Martha Stewart;

accessories: white embossing powder, versamark ink, heat tool, sponge daubers, stamp-a-majig, blender pen, white gel pen, stampin’ dimensionals, stars and circles stencils, silver cord from my stash, Clarity stencil brushes. 

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

11 Comments to “Christmas card ideas …”

  1. These are beautiful Gill x

  2. Wow! Gill – I think your choice of colours is just lovely and all your projects are just fabulous. I really like the soft colour of the Christmas tree card, but my favourite is the last one with the bohek effect and the slightly bolder colours – brilliant work! xxx

  3. all your projects are adorable – the color combo is just lovely

  4. elles sont superbe Gill, je ne saurais pas te dire laquelle je préfère, elles sont toutes trop belles, biz

  5. Such beautiful colours to use for Christmas, beautiful cards and inspiration.

  6. You’re on a roll here, Gill! You did a super job on all of these projects, but I have to say my favorites are the tags with the shiny silver snowflakes and the last card with the brighter colors.

  7. Just love the colours you have selected for this weeks challenge …. can quite understand your difficulty in choosing which card to post!!! So pleased you have shown us all 3 of your ideas …. from the delicate shading of the tree through the softness of the colours used on the house to the bright and bold background of the snowman scene – love them all ……
    tfs

  8. When I first saw the tree I fell in love with it. I have this stamp and have never yet used it with such a result. The other projects are the icing on the cake too. Just beautiful, Gill

  9. All are gorgeous Gill! I love the delicate sponging combined with the embossed image, April Xx

  10. How did you get the colors to blend? Did you wet the paper where you were going to sponge the ink? I’ve seen this before but no one really says how they get it to blend.
    Thanks

    • Hi Nancy. No, the paper was dry, but it helps to use a really smooth paper like the one Stampin’ Up makes, which really helps with the ink blending. Also, a light touch is better than a heavy hand – you can always add more ink but you can’t take it away!

      Hope this helps.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.