A Holly Jolly Christmas …

Hi and welcome to my blog. This month, I have the great pleasure of designing all the challenges over at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown challenge  – whoop! So I’ve been busy coming up with what I hope are interesting choices for you. This week, it’s a sketch challenge …

label-sketch

Though quite a traditional sketch, I tried to give it a modern look …

More-merry-messages

Tidying my craft room has uncovered lots of gems, like this paper and cardstock, that I’d forgotten I owned. I’ve used gumball green co-ordinations cardstock for the background, embossing one edge with the decorative dots embossing folder, then sanding back to reveal the lighter colour beneath.

More-merry-messages

The cute main image has been water-coloured using ink pads and a water brush on water-colour paper. The colours of the snow festival dsp and gumball green card complement the image beautifully.

I kept the embellishment simple as there was a lot going on elsewhere on the card…

Holly Jolly Christmas

I hope you like my card for this week, and I can’t wait to share the rest of the challenges I’ve designed.  Now it’s time to take a look at what our lovely Design Team has been creating for you at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown.  

I have entered my card in the following challenges:  

World Wide Open Design Team Challenge.

Merry Monday #148 Red & Green

Christmas cards all year round March – Critters

Want to make this blog colours

stamps: more merry messages, Penny Black Holly Jolly Christmas;

inks: black stazon, crumb cake, old olive, blushing bride, soft sky, daffodil delight;

cardstock: gumball green coordinations, water-colour paper;

punches and dies: deco labels dies, Martha Stewart snowflake punch;

accessories: snow festival dsp, decorative dots embossing folder, sanding block, water brush, adhesive rhinestones, stampin’ dimensionals;

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated.  

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

25 Comments to “A Holly Jolly Christmas …”

  1. What a cutie image, love the card, love the sketch too

  2. So cute, just love it x

  3. Absolutely adorable! Mr Hedgie is really cute and beautifully coloured. I do like the sanded dotty embossed background too.

    Love this sketch – thanks for a fun one Gill!

  4. super chou Gill, je suis fan de ces mignons hérissons, biz

  5. love the cute image and the patterned paper

  6. He’s so cute! Perfect colouring, I like the embossing too, looks like water droplets!

  7. It’s hard not to love that darling little hedgehog! Your card turned out great! 🙂

  8. Just so beautiful. Thank you for entering the 2015 World Wide Open Design Team Challenge.
    Annette DT Leader

  9. Gorgeous Card thank you for entering the 215 world wide open DT challenge
    Michelle DT

  10. So good to see you back at Merry Monday, Gill! Love this adorable image! Thanks for sharing it with us at Merry Monday!

  11. Such an adorable image and love the paper you used – really great design! Thanks so much for joining us at Merry Monday!

  12. Such a cute hedgehog, Gill. I love the sanded, embossed Gumball Green card (I miss that colour!!) Xx

  13. Lovely card. Thank you for entering the 2015 world wide open DT challenge. Good Luck!
    Eleonora DT

  14. lovely thanks for joining us at world wide challenge 2015 – Carol DT x

  15. Lovely card thank you for entering our 2015 world wide opened design team challenge Sue DT xx

  16. This is a cutie! Love the hedgehog and the tree-well coloured. I really like the bottom part and how you embossed and then sanded it down. It looks like dew drops

  17. . Love your take on the sketch and the embossing on the bottom is perfect touch
    Julie t

  18. What a brilliant card!! So pleased you’ve brought it along to CCAYR!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.