A gelli plate Christmas window …

Hi and welcome to my blog. This week’s theme challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown had me flummoxed to say the least – I almost went into a crafting spin! I’ve been so busy this week, what with a How To Train Your Dragon themed rainbow pinata cake to make for my daughter, plus a matching card (more on those next time), I could literally feel my mojo ebbing away.

I decided to give it a lot more thought, get some much needed rest and craft with fresh eyes again this morning. So, a little later than usual, here’s what I came up with …

Christmas-window-scene

My gelli plate got an airing to make the background using acrylic paints in rich gold and titanium buff, together with the leafy swirl stencil and some bubble wrap to create texture. There were patches of cobalt blue on the gelli plate, left over from my last printing session, but I like the look it gave – quite unique – I won’t be able to do that again! I created a window aperture in the centre of the piece, which was perfect to stamp this wintery scene into…

Christmas-window-scene-r

The pattern made by the titanium buff acrylic paint around the edges of the aperture, looks a little like frost on a window pane … well, with a little artistic licence it does! My husband suggested I added some blue around the edges to define the window a little more, but I was happy with the look and didn’t want to spoil things, so in the end just let it be …

Christmas-window-scene-l

There was a little buff acrylic paint where I stamped the snowman, which coloured his carrot nose in perfectly – I would like to say it was by design but it really wasn’t – just pure luck!

I couldn’t quite capture the true colours and textures in my photos this week (must try harder), it looks so pretty in real life – the rich gold acrylic paint is amazing and gives a wonderful golden sheen …

Christmas-window-scene-cu

So, an almost one layer card from me this week – I mounted the whisper white cardstock onto a deckle edged base card to give it strength, and resisted the temptation to add anything else to the card … I hope you like it.

My card also fits beautifully with today’s “more than one tree” challenge at Less is More too – pure serendipity.

Do please pop along to see what the rest of the Design Team have created to inspire you. I hope to see some of your creations at the 52 Christmas Card Throwdown challenge – have a wonderful week.

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white;

stamp set: White Christmas;

ink: black stazon;

additional: gelli plate, speedball brayer, leafy swirl stencil, rich gold and titanium buff acrylic paint, from Clarity Stamp, bubble wrap from my stash.

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

13 Comments to “A gelli plate Christmas window …”

  1. I’m amazed that two other entries today all use the same SU stamps as you have and yet they all look so fab and different

    Kathyk

  2. Oh yes, I like it! The leafy texture is super and it’s such a sweet scene in the window. Great take on the theme.

  3. très jolie création Gill, sobre et pleine de charme, biz

  4. Love this background… your gelli plate did well… or rather you did!
    Super card with great trees.
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  5. I’ve always fancied trying the Geli plate and after seeing your background definitely, so gorgeous and unique. I’m also having fun with this stamp set, so much you can do with it! Great DT card
    Louise xx

  6. hi Gill,

    your card is great,
    the snowman seemed to be a little sadly, but now he knows there’s someone who thinks of him, so even for him christmas will be a better one

    xxxAnnette

  7. Super inking and a stunning little snow scene.
    Thanks so much for sharing and taking part.
    Sarah xx
    Less is More

  8. Gill what a fab background you created for your snowy scene, love this!
    Thank you for joining us at Less is More
    Anne
    LIM Designer

  9. Your creations are always amazing Gill! I love the contrast between the ornate frame and that beautifully simple scene. Vicky x

  10. Oh wow – I love this, it’s perfect – Jacqueline xx

  11. Just love that frame Gill perfect to set off the scene.
    Hugs
    Margaret M

  12. That pattern you created is just amazing Gill! LOVE the way you framed your image. Hope the piñata turned out well too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.