A bright and beautiful Christmas …

Hi and welcome to my blog. Wow – what a whirlwind! We’ve been away for a few days celebrating my daughter’s birthday with a trip to the wonderful island of Sicily. I have lots of photos and memories to scrapbook and share with you soon.

So, with an action packed schedule this week, I was so glad it was sketch week at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown. Having a sketch to follow sure helps when it comes to putting a card together. I think this was one of the quickest and easiest cards I’ve ever made …

November-sketch-52CCT

I was still in a neutrals mood following my Guest Designer spot at Merry Monday last week, and chose a neutral background paper from the Gilded Winter collection by Trimcraft. It has this amazing embedded glitter which is stunning, and it made a great backdrop to the card. The greeting was centred to leave as much of the glitter visible as possible…

November-sketch-week-l

Crumb cake cardstock complemented the paper beautifully, and became the mat for the sentiment, from Bright and Beautiful by Stampin’ Up, stamped in early espresso ink on whisper white cardstock.

November-sketch-week-r

To give a pop of colour and contrast the neutrals, I tied a length of real red grosgrain ribbon in a single knot around the sentiment, and adhered it to the card with dimensionals.

A few adhesive rhinestones of different sizes, here and there, completed the look – I hope you like it.

November-sketch-week-cu

Do please pop along to see what the rest of the Design Team at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown have created to inspire you.

And there is an exciting opportunity waiting for you this week – we are looking for some new designers to join our merry team.

So, if you have what it takes to be a successful card designer and would like to join an amazing group of ladies, please answer our DT call and show us your creations.  

Good luck and have a wonderful week.

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white, crumb cake;

stamp set: bright and beautiful;

inks: early espresso;

accessories: real red grosgrain ribbon, adhesive rhinestones, stampin’ dimensionals;

additional: Gilded Winter background paper by Trimcraft.

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

6 Comments to “A bright and beautiful Christmas …”

  1. Love it Gill and that background paper is stunning! Can’t wait to see your holiday photos xxx

    http://www.pegcraftalot.com

  2. BEAUTIFUL AND ELEGANT

  3. Wow, gorgeous. That background paper could be a card on it’s own.

  4. You are so creative! Love getting your emails. I thought I use to be creative but now there are so many wonderful things on the internet I get creative block and I have too much stuff I don’t know where to start. Any suggestions Gill? Where do you live? I live in California.

  5. Gill – this is such an elegant card – I do like the paper you’ve used and the pop of red is just fab. Looking forward to seeing pictures too! x

  6. Very elegant Gill. Love the pop of red!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.