White Christmas and endless wishes…

Hi and welcome to my blog. This week, I had fun combining my Design Team card for 52 Christmas Card Throwdown with the challenge over at Less is More, as it just so happened that both challenges call for a one layer card…

one-layer-White-Christmas-card

The challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown is for a one layer Christmas card, using any method you like. The challenge at Less is More is more specific, requiring a clean and simple, one layer card, which has two of something.

To combine the challenges, I stamped two trees from the White Christmas set from Stampin’ Up. The stamps are clear photopolymer, so it was easy to ink up just the section of the stamp I needed …

one-layer-Christmas-card-l

I used shimmery white cardstock for the base (it has a bit more weight to it than the regular whisper white cardstock) and stamped the sentiment from Endless Wishes directly onto the cardstock in black stazon ink. A couple of rows of gold washi tape and a few gold sequins added some shine …

one-layer-Christmas-card-cu

I hope you like my card for this week – minimum embellishments and lots of white space for a clean and simple look.  I usually struggle to make one layer cards as the temptation for me is to keep adding layers and embellishments, just because I can! (the voice in my head is saying “step away from the sequins” …)  

I’m also linking my card to: 

The challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown runs until Friday, 24th October, so I hope you can join us there.

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: shimmery white;

stamp set: white Christmas, endless wishes;

inks: black stazon;

punches: corner rounder;

accessories: gold washi tape, gold sequins, mini glue dots;

All supplies from Stampin’ Up. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

22 Responses to “White Christmas and endless wishes…”

  1. Really lovely card Gill, love the gold sequins they really make it special xxx

  2. Gorgeous one layer card Gill, I love it! C x

  3. Perfect! I love the simple elegance of your card! The touch of sparkle with the sequins is super! Love it.

  4. This is great stamping… quite a lot of embellishments for a one layer card, but a real beauty!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  5. Gorgeous card, love the embellies, so perfect.

  6. This is really sweet, love the sequins.

  7. Sorry to be so late commenting, what a gorgeous creation, the two trees are fab!
    Thanks so much for joining us
    Anne
    LIM Designer

  8. Such a beautiful, elegant and peaceful scene! Gorgeous! Thanks so much for joining us at Merry Monday.

  9. Oh, oh, oh, not only do I like your card, I LOVE your card…..definitely pinning this one! Just so sweet and simple! It makes me want to go order that set right now! Thanks for participating in my Merry Monday challenge this week!

  10. I do like the White Christmas set. The two complimentary washi tapes look fantastic, grounding the trees and I like the spatter of gems too. great one layer card.
    Louise xx

  11. This is lovely Gill – that washi tape just goes on forever – I’m still using mine too! – Jacqueline x

  12. Beautiful, Gill. I love the simplicity of it. Thanks for playing along with the Merry Monday Silent Night challenge.

  13. adorable Gill, quelle poésie et quelle sobriété et féliciation d’avoir gagné le challenge Merry Monday, biz

  14. Oh wow! This is gorgeous for such a simple design. I love it! Thanks for entering our Challenge at 613 Avenue Create. I hope you come and visit us again soon. God bless you!

    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

  15. Congratulations, Gilly! We loved your card and it was chosen as the winner at Merry Monday! If you would like to be our Guest Designer next week, email me at bonklass(at)gmail(dot)com and I will send you the information.

  16. I saw your adorable card on the Merry Monday blog and just had to stop by! Such a great CAS design! The row of sequins adds the perfect touch of shimmer and texture!

  17. CAS perfection Gill. Definitely going to CASE this one! Congrats on your Merry Monday win!

  18. The simplicity of this card is fabulous, Gill, from the layout to the minimalistic color scheme. Excellently done!

  19. Beautiful card! Love the sequin trim!
    Thanks for playing at the ABC Christmas Challenge!
    Helen x

  20. Beautiful CAS card.
    Thanks for playing along at ABC Christmas.
    Carissa

Trackbacks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.