A Nordic Christmas …

Hi and welcome to my blog. It’s Saturday, which means it’s time for another Christmas card challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown.  Asha, our hostess, has a wonderful Nordic challenge for us this week, which had me reaching for my paper stash to find a particular piece of snow festival dsp I knew I had, and which was just perfect for my card this week…

52CCT-Sept-theme-2

The card itself is simple and clean – which is the norm for Scandanavian style cards

Nordic-Christmas-1-r

The hearts framelits, by Stampin’ Up, were just the job for die cutting the centre piece for the card. I added a white heat-embossed snowflake, and some white faux stitch lines for that homespun look …

Nordic-Christmas2-cu

I really enjoyed this week’s challenge – so much so that I made not one, but two cards!

(I’m really getting ahead with my Christmas card stash now!)

52CCT-Sept-theme-1

A variation on the first card, but this time using ribbon I’d found in my stash – I thought it looked really pretty, with its hearts design, and it framed the die cut beautifully …

Nordic-Christmas-l

I added different doodle dots this time too …

Nordic-Christmas-r

This cute ribbon has been sitting patiently in my stash, just waiting for the right project … 

Nordic-Christmas-cu

I can’t quite decide which card is my favourite … can you?

And now it’s time to see what the rest of the Design Team have been up to. We have a wonderful guest designer joining us this week – the lovely Peg Coombes – and she has a real wow of a card to share with you! This lady is super talented, and such a nice person too, so I do hope you’ll stop by and give her some blog lovin’. I had the great pleasure to spend some time with Peg recently, and I can tell you her projects are just beautiful. 

I hope you’ve been inspired to join us this week. With now just over 13 weeks to go until Christmas, there is still time to get ahead with your festive cards, so why not show us what you’ve made? Everyone is welcome – just have fun!

I’ll be spreading some Christmas cheer by entering my cards at the following challenges:  

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white;

stamp set: festive flurry;

inks: versamark;

punches & dies: heart framelits;

accessories: snow festival dsp (retired), dimensionals, white gel pen, red gingham ribbon from my stash;

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

25 Comments to “A Nordic Christmas …”

  1. I love this card – Nordic style is fabulous and your card is just spot on!

  2. Thanks for your lovely comment, I really can’t decide on the one I like best, they are both so elegant! xx

  3. SO very pretty, love the cleaness of it. Love the Nordic designs, both cards are beautiful

  4. Two lovely cards, I can’t decide which is my favourite either. C x

  5. Gill – love them both! The bold red snowflake heart reminds me of some ornaments that I saw at Bronner’s Christmas store in Frankenmuth (a truly wonderful place)! I love the paper on the first one and the ribbon detail on the second. Great work.

  6. Oh wow these are gorgeous! I love the Nordic theme! So pretty! Thanks for playing our Christmas Card Challenge!

  7. Love Nordic style Christmas cards…… and this one is great…… I have yet to photograph mine for my blog. Love Debs x

  8. Je ne peux pas choisir Gill, elles sont superbe et si cosy toutes les deux, biz

  9. Love your Nordic Christmas cards with their clean crisp lines and bold colours. The stitching on the heart motif just makes them.
    Thanks for sharing with us at ATSM this week, 🙂

  10. Two lovely cards, I love Nordic designs. I would say the first one is my favourite. Thanks for joining in at ATSM this week, Anita x

  11. Both of your cards are fabulous! I wouldn’t have thought to use the snowflake image on the heart die cut, but it fits perfectly – and it looks terrific with your faux stitching.

  12. I love Nordic designs and these are beautiful cards. I’d find it hard to pick one. Great use of ribbon and thanks for joining us at Holly Jolly Christmas.

  13. Love these cards! So simple and elegant! Thanks for joining us this month at Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Extra. Cindy-GDT

  14. These are both very Nordic and very gorgeous, but I particularly like the DP on the first one…no… I LOVE the DP on the first one!
    Louise xx

  15. Such lovely paper and perfect, as you say. The red heart is so pretty, I’d like to try something similar. I still need plenty of cards.

  16. Thank you for sharing your lovely crafting for my CHNC challenge extra for September – hope to see you again soon x

  17. Both are very pretty Nordic Christmas cards Gill – I love how the snowflake looks on the heart shape! Ruth x

  18. I love the snowflake on the heart! It is a comforting and homespun card that is just a joy to look at. Hugs D

  19. Fabulous card!
    Thanks for playing at the ABC Christmas Challenge!
    Helen x

  20. These are beautiful! Thank you for joining us at the ABC Christmas Challenge.
    Carissa:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.