Silver and white ornament keepsakes …

This week’s challenge at 52 Christmas Card Throwdown is to make a Christmas card using a previous sketch.  There is a really helpful section on the site listing all the previous sketch challenges.  I looked back through the archives and decided that I loved this one from November 2012…

Sketch 11

I usually try to keep as close to the sketch as possible, but this time I tweaked it slightly by flipping the embellishment and the sentiment, which seemed to work better for my card …

Silver embossed ornament keepsakes by Stampin Up

The bauble was heat embossed in silver and cut out using the matching ornament keepsakes framelits and my big shot machine.  I heat embossed the sentiment too…

Silver embossed ornament keepsakes by Stampin Up left side

To make the background paper, I used the flourish stamp from Creative Elements and stamped onto whisper white cardstock in frost white shimmer paint, giving a beautiful shimmery image which is really pretty in real life…

Silver embossed ornament keepsakes by Stampin Up right side

I’ve been having a tidy of my craft room and found a length of white organza ribbon in my ribbon box, that has a pretty silver tinsel-like thread through the centre.  I thought it was too pretty not to be used, so I tied it in a bow and adhered it to the top of the bauble die cut with some mini glue dots.   I found my stash of Stampin’ Up adhesive pearls too, so added a large adhesive pearl to the centre of the bauble… I love the size of these large pearls – gorgeous!

Silver embossed ornament keepsakes by Stampin Up embossing close up

I struggled with my camera today.  After what seemed like a gazillion attempts, I managed to take one shot showing how shiny the silver embossing is!  Trust me – the embossing is so pretty in real life and I’m sure that whoever I give my card to will appreciate the colours and shine. 

Would you like to join in the card challenge?  Then hop on over to the 52CCT web page and join in the fun!  Hope to see you there.  And just for fun, I’m going to enter this week’s card in the Festive Friday #32 challenge.

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white;

stamp sets: ornament keepsakes, more merry messages, creative elements;

inks: frost white shimmer, versamark;

punches & dies: ornament keepsakes framelits;

accessories: stampin’ dimensionals, glue dots, large and medium adhesive pearls, big shot machine, stampamajig, white and silver ribbon from my stash.

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

15 Comments to “Silver and white ornament keepsakes …”

  1. Hi Gill, I love the colours and style of this card. Very elegant ….. one of my favourites todate. Love Debs x

    • Hi Debs – I’m so glad you like it! It was difficult to photograph, but an absolute pleasure to make. I loved playing with the inks and embossing – had such fun in my craft room LOL! Love and hugs, Gill x

  2. superbe et tellement élégante Gill, ces tons de blanc et d’argent sont si chic, elle est magnifique, biz

  3. Stunning card, love the ribbon too

  4. Beautiful!! This is my favourite so far, love the embossed bauble, lots of love Peg xxx

  5. This is stunning – love the ribbon, it makes a gorgeous bow – Jacqueline xx

  6. Oh wow!!! This is absolutely stunning, so elegant. Your ribbon bow is a work of art on its own! Great work.

  7. Beautiful and so elegant Gilly! The ribbon, pearls and shimmer stamping are gorgeous highlights to your stylish and sophisticated card and I adore that delicate deckled edge! Ruth x

  8. Stunning bow on that beautiful ornament! Love how you created your own background too. Hugs D

  9. Love this elegant card – silver and white is always a wonderful combination for Christmas – frosty and cool! So glad you joined us at Festive Friday!

  10. Truly a splendid card. It is very stylish and she looks so precious!
    Thank you for the visit and your nice comment Gill.
    Rosi x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.