Lovely as a tree Christmas glitter from Stampin’ Up …

I loved this week’s 52 Christmas Card Throwdown challenge – it is right up my alley, so to speak.  It’s a stash challenge and the theme is “something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue”  …

For my “something old” I chose the Lovely as a Tree stamp set from Stampin’ Up.  It’s a set that has been around for several years and is still available in the current catalogue, but with such a timeless and beautiful stamp set, I can see why it is still so popular.  It has so many uses, my favourite being for Christmas cards (of course) …

Lovely as a tree Christmas blessings

“Something new” for me is the decorative dots embossing folder, which I earned for free during Stampin’ Up’s sale-a-bration this year.  It is currently unavailable, but it will be seeing a comeback when the new catalogue is launched in July. I embossed a scrap of whisper white cardstock with the embossing folder, using my bigshot machine, and then tore a strip to make it look a bit like snow…

Lovely as a tree Christmas - rhinestones

My “something borrowed” is the layout – from a card I saw on Pinterest … don’t you just love Pinterest for ideas and inspiration?  I have lots of pins on my boards if you’d like a looksee. 

Lovely as a tree Christmas - glass glitter

And finally, my something blue is the night of navy ink I used to stamp the trees and sentiment, which is from the More Merry Messages set from Stampin’ Up.  It’s not in the catalogue, but is still available on the carry over list, and I use it ALL the time (as you might have noticed!) 

I added a row of silver glass glitter with sticky strip for some sparkle, and a sprinkling of rhinestones too …

Lovely as a tree Christmas - close up

Hope you like my card this week.  If you are inspired by the 52CCT challenge, why not hop on over and join in the fun?  We’d love to see your creations.  See you there! 

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white, very vanilla;

stamp sets: lovely as a tree, more merry messages;

inks: night of navy;

accessories: silver glass glitter, rhinestones, decorative dots embossing folder, sticky strip.

All supplies from Stampin’ Up – contact me for details. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

10 Comments to “Lovely as a tree Christmas glitter from Stampin’ Up …”

  1. This is super! Clean looking, love it Gill xxx

  2. I love it too, especially love those embossed dots, making little snowballs! C x

  3. What a gorgeous card. Cheers Donna Z 🙂

  4. Love the sparkle, you’ve given me an idea! 😜Lovely as a Tree is a great stamp to use too, perfect for something old. Sorry I’m a bit late I’ve been visiting my MIL in hospital this weekend

    Louise xx

  5. elle est superbe Gill, très élégante, tout en finesse, biz

  6. Everything about this card is just beautiful. LOVE your scrap of snow, the blue trees (yes, that set is definitely a classic) and the wonderful strip of glitter. Nice job! Hugs D

  7. Hi Gill, this is so beautiful, you’ve done a terrific job with my stash challenge, I love the silver glitter with the navy and white! I found my jar of this glitter and wondered why I was keeping it as I never seem to use it so thanks for the inspiration! The dotty snow and sprinkle of rhinestones are sweet touches too! Ruth x

  8. This is stunning – so clean and simple but very elegant too – Jacqueline xx

  9. Beautifully clean, simple and so elegant. I love the touch of sparkle and the shades of blue on the trees! Great work.

  10. Your elegant card is fabulous, Gill! I couldn’t help but giggle at your choice of Lovely as a Tree for your “something old”. It’s one of my oldest stamp sets – I’ve had it for a good 10 years! It’s a classic.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.