A Joyful Christmas by Stampin’ Up – perfect for a card recipe challenge …

It’s time for another 52 Christmas Card Throwdown challenge, and this week the challenge is a CARD recipe … Colour something in, Add Rhinestones or Ribbon, Deboss.  So I played with some watercolouring …

Joyful Christmas by Stampin Up

I stamped the beautiful poinsettia image from the Joyful Christmas stamp set, by Stampin’ Up, in brown stazon ink (from my stash) onto whisper white cardstock, so I could watercolour the image.  I then used my aqua painter to add strawberry slush ink, a little at a time so I didn’t saturate the cardstock too much.  If you take it easy, and allow the card to dry after each time you add ink, you can watercolour onto whisper white cardstock and avoid it pilling.  The card may warp a little as it dries, but as I was planning to cut out the image and shape it anyway, this was not a problem. 

Joyful Christmas by Stampin Up poinsettia close up

Part of the card recipe was to use the debossed side of a piece of embossing.  I plumped for using the lacy brocade embossing folder by Stampin Up, as the image is beautiful on both sides and gives a wonderful, classic effect – just what I was looking for…

Joyful Christmas by Stampin Up ribbon and rhinestones

I couldn’t resist, and chose to add both ribbon AND rhinestones … you know me and bling! Not too much, just a couple of little highlights.

Joyful Christmas by Stampin Up embossing detail

Hope you like the card this week.  If you’d like to join us in the CARD recipe challenge, hop on over to 52 Christmas Card Throwdown and show us what you’ve made.  Hope to see your creations there.

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: whisper white;

stamp sets: joyful Christmas;

inks: early espresso, strawberry slush, pistachio pudding, daffodil delight;

accessories: primrose petals stitched ribbon, adhesive rhinestones, lacy brocade embossing folder, stampin’ dimensionals, aqua painter. 

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated – contact me for details. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

19 Comments to “A Joyful Christmas by Stampin’ Up – perfect for a card recipe challenge …”

  1. A beautiful card Gill. love the bling on the words rather in the flowers.

  2. It’s a beautiful card. Thank you !

  3. quelle superbe carte Gill, charme et élégance en une seule création, biz

  4. SO soft and gorgeous, Gill! LOVE that amazing bloom! HUGS and enjoy the rest of your weekend! 🙂 Mynn xx

  5. Just beautiful xx

  6. Just gorgeous I am loving the Christmas theme and it’s getting us all started early! xxx

  7. Absolutely love your card – so beautifully elegant! The debossed damask background is fab and I love the poinsettia!

    • Hi Deb – that’s so lovely of you to say. I absolutely loved making this card – I lost myself for ages with the water colouring. I was really pleased with how it turned out. xxx

  8. Beautiful Gill, really beautiful! I love the crisp white and the pop of colour from the wonderfuly coloured poinsettia and your perfect choice of embossing folder! Such a classic and elegant card – I’m going to say it again – beautiful! Ruth x

  9. This is all-around fantastic, Gill! The poinsettia turned out beautifully. I love that you fussy cut all the layers of petals and put them back together. The deckled edge complements the debossed brocade design. And the clean and simple styling is right up my alley. It’s so good seeing you back to creating again! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comments Patricia – I really appreciate your feedback. And it feels good to be back to crafting again – I love my papercraft therapy! 😀 xxx

  10. Elegant and very festive! Great take on Ruth’s recipe. Sorry I’m visiting, Gill. So many things happening … and not all of them good. I’m trying to catch up, slowly.
    hugs, Asha

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.