Ornament keepsakes from Stampin’ Up

I’m so happy I’m able to join in this week’s challenge over at the 52 Christmas Card Throwdown challenge blog.  It feels so good to be back to crafting again.

This week is a colour theme, and they are a little different to the traditional Christmas hues… 

Simple May Colors copy

I struggled at first as they were not my usual go-to shades, so this combo had me a little perplexed … until I broke out my ornament keepsakes stamp set from Stampin’ Up that is, then I just started playing with inks and made this …

Ornament keepsakes from Stampin Up

I started by making the background, stamping tiny snowflakes in versamark ink onto glossy white cardstock. 

Ornament keepsakes from Stampin Up snowflake detail

Once dry, I added rich razzleberry ink using the direct to paper technique, and then buffed and blended the ink into the cardstock with a stampin’ sponge.  I love the different shades of colour in the background – it is really beautiful in real life. 

Ornament keepsakes from Stampin Up rhinestones

Next, I used the same technique for the baubles using melon mambo ink, and the leaves in old olive. I hunted high and low for my whisper white baker’s twine, but could I find it?  No is the answer! So I improvised and used some white wool for the bauble hangers. 

Ornament keepsakes from Stampin Up baubles close up

A few adhesive rhinestones and tiny hand-tied silver bows, added a little sparkle to this pink and pretty Christmas card.  Hope you like it. 

Ornament keepsakes from Stampin Up side view

If you’d like to join in the colour challenge fun, we would love to see your creations.  Why not hop on over to the 52CCT web page and show us what you’ve made?  Hope to see you there!   

Want to make this blog colours

cardstock: white glossy, whisper white;

stamp sets: ornament keepsakes, more merry messages, serene snowflakes (retired);

inks: rich razzleberry, melon mambo, old olive;

punches and dies: owl, ornament keepsakes framelits;

accessories: silver ribbon, adhesive rhinestones, tombo multi-purpose adhesive, stampin’ dimensionals, mini-glue dots;

additional: white wool.

All supplies from Stampin’ Up unless otherwise stated – please contact me for details. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

14 Comments to “Ornament keepsakes from Stampin’ Up”

  1. I love the colours, so very different for Christmas xxx

    • Hi Peg. Now that it’s made, I really like the colours too, but I did struggle initially. The challenge just took me out of my comfort zone, which is no bad thing, huh? xx

  2. I’ve missed you! What a lovely card to come back with! I’m definitely going to try these techniques.

    • Hi Loz – thank you for your lovely comment! It feels good to be back. And I’m so pleased that you like my card. It really is a fun technique – as long as you have glossy white cardstock and a variety of inks, you can make whatever your heart desires! Have fun getting inky. Gill x

  3. Gill this is jaw-dropping, those baubles are so vibrant. Love the paper you created and the gems and leaves are perfect finishing touches.
    Louise xx

  4. superbe Gill, très élégant, ces couleurs lui vont merveilleusement bien, biz

  5. Love, love, love! This is STUNNING! 🙂 HUGS and have a wonderful rest of the week! 🙂 Mynn xx

  6. Love this, wouldn’t have thought of these colours, but they work so well, beautiful card

  7. I think this is stunning! I love the way the snowflakes show through the background and the gorgeous baubles. Fabulous work.

  8. Absolutely STUNNING! Love everything about it – the baubles, the bling, the snowflakes … wow wow WOW! So sorry I’m late commenting this week.
    hugs, Asha

  9. Wow! Love the colour combos here Gill! Traditional design/theme combined with a modern colour combo! 🙂 xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.