Despicable me minion birthday …

Hi there – I hope you’re having a good weekend so far.

I know I promised more Christmas creations, but I’ve been a little busy – baking a cake for my daughter’s birthday, and making a birthday card – Despicable Me Minion style …

Despicable me minion card

After making a Minion card for my husband’s birthday, my daughter said she wanted one for her birthday too, and I aim to please!  I decided to give just a nod to the Minions, and used my circle framelits and punches to put this little guy together.

He was really fun to make – one of my favourites …

Despicable me minion card 2

And the cake was fun to do too …

Despicable me minion cake

My plan had been to make a dozen cupcake minions too, all decorated to look like little Minions… but time got the better of me, so I managed the large Minion and several yellow-topped cupcakes with no faces, bless!  Next time maybe? 

Despicable me minion cake 3

Here’s what I used to make today’s card – all supplies from Stampin’ Up!:

cardstock: daffodil delight, chocolate chip, marina mist, basic black, whisper white, brushed silver; inks: daffodil delight, marina mist, smoky slate; punches: circles, corner rounder; accessories: circle framelits, big shot machine, white gel pen, basic grey stampin’ write marker pen, marina mist buttons (retired), mini glue dots, paper snips, sponge daubers. 

I love receiving your messages, so if you have any questions, or you just want to say hi, do please leave me a comment.  And if you have a blog, I’ll repay your visit. 

Thanks for dropping by today

signature.jpg

Tags:

24 Responses to “Despicable me minion birthday …”

  1. So nice! Cake looks so delicious!

  2. Oh my so cute! My daughter and I love minions too. Her birthday is coming up so I’d love to case your card for her, pretty please. And wow a cake too. Whilst I love baking, cake decorating isn’t something I’ve ever done. Your culinary and card creations are just awesome and very inspiring. Thanks for sharing. Cheers Donna Z 🙂

    • Hi Donna. I’m so pleased you liked my card and delighted that you want to case it – please feel free. If you’ve done card making before, then cake decorating is not too dissimilar – it’s just using a different medium to work with so I do hope you’ll give it a go. The trick is to crumb coat your sponge cake before icing, which sounds difficult but really isn’t.. If you need any tips, just let me know. Gill x

  3. OH! WOW what fun items, love the card and the cake is fabulous

  4. The minion card is adorable! How did you do the hair?

    • Hi Ellen. Thank you for your lovely comment. For the hair, I used my paper snips to cut really thin strips from the edge of some basic black cardstock, and then adhered them to the card with some tombo mono multi glue. Hope this helps. Gill x

  5. Lilly – I love love your Minion card. My great-granddaughter will be 3 in early February and loves the Minions so if it is OK with you I would love to scraplift this card to make for my great-granddaughter. The cake in adorable also and sent a link to your blog to her Mom to check out the cake. I am in Arizona and they are in Maine, this will be the first birthday we don’t get to spend with our little munchkin
    Thanks
    Donna

    • Hi Donna. I’m so glad you like my Minion card and I am flattered that you want to case it – please feel free to do so. Both the card and the cake were straight forward to make, and were a lot of fun to do, so I hope you will both give it a go. Thanks for visiting my blog. Gill x

  6. It is soooo perfect for 7 yrs kid’s birthday card.
    Thank you so much for sharing your idea.

  7. I love your cake! My son loves the minions! How did you cut the mouth and make the tongue?

    • Hi Nuria and thank you for your comments. I used the edge of a cookie cutter to indent the icing for the mouth – it’s not cut through, just gives a neat line. For the tongue, I hand cut a piece of pink fondant with my sharp palette knife – just did it by eye until it looked right. Hope this helps xx

  8. Hi Gill,
    For the gray glasses frame, did you but a grey color or did you make gray with the black? I tried putting in a drop of black to make gray but it came out purple 😦
    Thank you in advance!

    • Hi Nuria – I mixed a small piece of black fondant with some white fondant. Knead it together well, and you will get a nice colour grey – works much better than trying to colour with food colouring. Good luck with your cake! xx

  9. Gill, you never fail to disappoint! the card is good, but the cake is Awesome! I hope she saved you a slice… I always remember the VW camper an one you made which was amazing too. Have you been on a cake course or are you self taught?

    • Hi Joanne. Thank you for your lovely comments. My daughter got married last year and she asked me to make her wedding cake, so I took some sugar craft classes at night school and just loved it. I now enjoy making cakes at every opportunity. I found that a lot of techniques we use in paper crafting are similar to those used in sugar craft – it’s just a different medium to work with. You should give it a try – I think you’d love it 😀

  10. My grandson is having his 9th birthday this weekend. Starting with the whole gang going to the new “Minion” movie. I have him and another grand tomorrow. We will be using your ideas to make his “thank you” cards. Punches and all.. making it easy and fast. Let them put them together! ♥ Thanks for the ideas ~

Trackbacks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.